Welcome to the collaborative web site of the Sephardi Mizrahi Studies Caucus of the Association for Jewish Studies.

About the Sephardi Mizrahi Studies Caucus

The central aim of the Caucus is to promote the integration of academic Sephardi and Mizrahi Studies into general Jewish Studies and other fields outside of Judaic Studies, both in teaching and in scholarship. The Caucus also aims to bring out of isolation scholars working in the fields of Sephardi/Mizrahi Studies.

The Caucus was founded in 1998 by Professors Aron Rodrigue and Aviva Ben-Ur and represents the implementation of an idea Professor Rodrigue conceived at the Association for Jewish Studies conference of 1997. The Caucus first met at the Association for Jewish Studies conference in December of 1998, and continues to meet annually at the AJS.

Caucus Leadership

The 2012 Chair is Adriana Brodsky (St. Mary’s College of Maryland)

About the Site

This site was created to further the mission of the Caucus by employing digital media to facilitate communication and collaboration among researchers, communities, and the general public.  It represents a joint effort among several editors and contributors.  If you would like to contribute content or become otherwise involved, please contact an editor for more information.

Receive Updates

If you wish to receive email notification about updates to this site, simply provide your email address in the field provided under “Email Subscription” on the right-hand side of the page.

Google Group Email List

The Caucus also maintains a Google Groups e-mail list, moderated by Evelyn Dean-Olmsted.  In addition to the information posted on this site, the list is used to discuss specific Caucus-related business. To join this list or read the archives, click here.

History of Digital Media Presence

A previous website for the Caucus was created and maintained by Rachel Simon.  While no longer active, the site contains many valuable resources and can be accessed at http://www.princeton.edu/~rsimon/ssc.htm.

The original e-mail list for the Caucus was created and moderated by Aviva Ben-Ur from 1997-2010.  To access these archives, click here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *